It’s a She Thing

 

First and foremost, this is by no means a man-bashng, “I am woman, hear me roar!” type of note. This is just an expression of a couple things that I have been experiencing and have conversed about lately. You may have seen my facebook status about not being as feminine as some would prefer. I don’t see myself as an ordinary person, and even less of an ordinary woman. Sort of. Certain things that I do may seem a little barbaric or too masculine, relative to other women. Here are a few facts about me:

1. I absolutely LOVE Jack and Coke. If it’s not Jack and Coke, it’s Navan on the rocks. (At home anyway)

2. I know enough about how cars work to get by if something were to go wrong. (I.e. changing tires, jumping the battery, checking fluid levels, removing a boot ;-). Nothing too extreme, again, just enough to get by.

3. I curse like a sailor and drink like a fish.

4. My dog is not cute and cuddly. He won’t fit in my purse, and he’s not an accessory. He’s a pit bull. A big pit bull.

5. I drive a truck with a manual transmission. A small truck, but still, it’s no Corolla. Why? Because I’m 5’10”, and when I was learning how to drive, my parents had a Suburban and a Cadillac DeVille. What choice did I have? And manual transmissions are cheaper, more fuel efficient, and pretty hot!

6. When I’m extremely stressed, I may just smoke a Black.

7. If I get the urge, I will burp aloud.

8. I have 3 tattoos, and would like to get 2 more before the leaves turn in the fall.

9. I like video games. Am I good? No way. But I still like them.

10. I enjoy outdoorsy stuff. Camping. skiing, horseback riding, anything to get dirty.

11. I can cut men’s hair, without messing up the swirl(s).

12. I don’t always think the way women do in terms of sex and relationships. (Won’t go into detail)

13. I don’t need an entourage of girlfriends. I am very content with going to a bar alone, buying myself a drink, and striking up conversation with strangers.

14. I am extremely old-fashioned. Club me over the head, drag me back to your cave, and I’ll drop 10 babies for you. That modern woman stuff is for the birds. Anyone who really knows me knows that I can’t stand soft men. This is why. Which brings me to number 15…

15. My dream job is to be a housewife. Not like those in ATL or Orange County, but something like my granny in the fifties. I’ll cook every meal daily, clean the house, take the kids to soccer practice, load everyone in the car for church, go to PTA meetings, rub you down after work, and read bedtime stories……after I earn my Ph.D. and set myself up for residual income of course.

What’s wrong with the aforementioned? I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it. I think it makes me well-rounded. Some things you just learn when you’re alone and all of your family is 3,000 miles away, and some things I’ve just acquired just because I’m me. I’m not trying to prove anything, I just am who I am. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still very much a woman. Before I got my dog, I had a phenomenal collection of stilettos and pumps, I dance around my room in my panties to Beyonce, I’m very nurturing, I like to be romanced, and I’m still sugar and spice and everythig nice.

My problem is neither that I can’t get a man, nor that I think men are inferior and should step their game up. I don’t have a problem. It’s just been my experience that these things can be a little intimidating for men, and I’m just opening up for some feedback as to why that is. I’d just like to hear some different points of view. I’m not saying I’m willing to make any changes to be more desireable, because again, I’m me. “I am what I am, and that’s all that I am…..”-Popeye

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

