The Right Compliment

The influence that the opposite sex has on our self-image is pretty intense. Whether its a compliment about what I’m wearing that makes me feel like the most beautiful girl in the room, or a compliment on the way my hair is styled, sincere compliments from a man make me feel like nothing else matters. Here are a few things that men do and say that make me smile so deeply that it reaches my tummy and sprinkles a tingly sensation:

1. “I love tall women.” There aren’t too many times that I go out and I’m not the tallest woman in the room. At 5’10” usually with 5″ heels, I tend to attract quite a bit of attention, if only for the duration of a glance. It doesn’t bother me. I’m used to being the tallest girl in class, taller than my prom date, and taller than a fair portion of some of the guys I’ve dated. But even though it doesn’t bother me to stand out, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t like when the people complimented me for resembling The Jolly Green Giant. It took me a while to be comfortable in my own skin, so its nice to know that someone else fancies the skin I’m in.  

2. Sweeping me off my feet. Literally. For as long as I can remember, I’ve always liked to be picked up. When I was younger, it was usually because I was wearing my favorite church dress and watching 7 Brides for 7 Brothers. I would always call on my mom or brother to lift me like the girls of the movie in the dance sequences. In my adult life, I still appreciate being lifted off the ground, whether its to greet me at the door with a very zealous ‘hello’, during a WWF play session, or during an intimate evening (Oh, please pick me up when we get down with the get down!), I get butterflies whenever a man picks me up. Sounds strange? Probably. But it some weird way, it makes me feel like the most beautiful girl in the world.

3. “I love your smile.” A compliment on my smile is a compliment on my natural beauty, which is always a great thing. It’s like when someone tells me they like it when I wear my hair naturally (And by naturally, I mean wear it right after I wash it, without applying heat.) I think it needs improvement, but then again, I think most of me needs improvement.

 

4.  Holding my hand. To hold my hand is to say, “She’s with me. Take notice.” Aside from the fact that holding hands is my favorite form of PDA, it makes me feel special and even a little safer knowing that I’m in good hands (with Allstate.) (Ok, that was cheesy).

5. Playing with my hair. Touch me, tease me, feel me and caress me. Touching my hair let’s me know that you like it. If you like it, that means it probably looks and smells good, and since I don’t wear weaves or use very many products, I conclude that you think my natural hair is dope (See above how complimenting my natural beauty will get you all the tea in China).

6. Taking an interest in my craft. I like to write. Am I the best? No. But I think I’m ok. Even if I’m not, I still like to do it along with a list of other hobbies that I’m not very good at. Knowing that you enjoy reading what I share with you (which isn’t much), watching me sew or crochet, or eating whatever I create is freakin sweet!

7. A wink. (Giggles like a school girl)

8. Tickling. (Giggles like a school girl) (Again)

9. “You’re beautiful.” Not cute, not pretty, not sexy, but beautiful. Babies are cute. A girl in her Easter Sunday dress and patent-leather shoes is pretty. Sexy means that you’d have sex with me. Women are beautiful (I’ll settle for gorgeous). It’s a different kind of compliment. It’s the most bold and direct compliment you can give. If my beauty compells you to utter those words which aren’t by any means easy to say, I have arrived.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

