Five Things I do Because He Does

1. Brush my teeth when I wake up.

Ever since I was a kid, I never understood the point of brushing my teeth before breakfast. As nasty as that sounds, it just never made any sense to get my mouth all nice and fresh, just to go and have it smelling like maple syrup 15 minutes later. Not what I was taught, just something I deemed as abnormal. But when I’m with my beau and he gets up to brush his teeth before he can get both eyes open, I feel obligated to follow his lead. It would be one thing if we could both just lay for a few with stinky breath, but I refuse to be the sole bad-breath-having person in the bed.

2. Follow sports.

I enjoy sports just as much as the next chick. Especially basketball. So much so, that I enjoy going to games, and even developed a loyalty to Stephen A. Smith, Mike Wilbon, and Stuart Scott. But if it weren’t for him, I wouldn’t follow sports. I wouldn’t have the ESPN app downloaded to my phone and I wouldn’t follow them on Twitter. I wouldn’t watch football games when he’s not around. The purpose of this is to ensure that we always have something to talk about, because let’s face it, if you’re with a guy and don’t have at least a novice level of working sports knowledge, you might as well be bad in bed.

3. Listen to hip-hop.

I’m not hip-hop’s biggest fan by any means. In fact, I dislike a great deal of it. But some songs are pretty catchy, and thus slightly entertaining. Most of the songs that I can at least tolerate are songs that I heard while sitting his car or room, or songs that he won’t stop reciting every chance he gets. Every now and then when he’s not around, I miss these songs and find myself downloading them to my ipod. If it weren’t for him, I wouldn’t have many songs by Consequence, Lil’ Wayne, and of course Gucci Mane in all of his retardation.

4. Make the bed.

If you’ve ever visited my bedroom from the time that I was 8 until now, you probably know that I absolutely DESPISE cleaning my room, which includes making my bed. I have no problem keeping any other room, but cleaning my room stresses me out. This is not to say that I’m nasty and have week-old dishes and trash and junk all over the place, I just don’t like to hang up or fold clothes. There will always be clothes on my bed. Just because I don’t believe that my room has to be tidy and my bed has to be made daily doesn’t mean that I practice these same principles at his house. If he has dishes in the sink, I’ll clean them. If he has clothes that need to be folded, I’ll fold them. And since I’m almost always the last person out of the bed (even when I’m not), I’m going to make up his bed. 

5. Make breakfast.

I’ve never really eaten much of a breakfast in the morning, because I’d rather spend the time it takes to prepare a meal under my covers. Usually my breakfast consists of something I can just take with me and/or doesn’t require much preparation. Maybe a piece of fruit,  a bagel, or a quick bowl of cereal, but anything beyond that is too much for me to process at 8:00 in the morning. But he cooks breakfast. Even if its not every day, I know he’d much rather have a hot meal than his leftover Chinese food (I personally think that leftovers make the best breakfast), so when I can, I’m going to make sure that his breakfast comes hot off the stove.

  1. Making my bed?! I never really understood why I needed to. Its going to be slept in in less than 24 hours!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

